Batteries for my boat

Torqeedo, ePropulsion, Victron Energy and more

Popular boat batteries - Lithium & AGM

„Which batteries are available for my boat?" - you can easily find the right type of engine and model for your boat in the categories. Here you will find almost all manufacturers and models available on the market for maritime applications.

You are not sure which battery fits best for your electric boat engine? Give us a call or write a short mail! We have a selection of over 450 different electric drives and 100 batteries from over 20 manufacturers.

Battery types: Lithium and AGM

Which battery you need depends heavily on your usage and budget. Motor and sailing boats are usually powered by modern lithium batteries. Alternatively, AGM or lead batteries are also possible. However, these are more likely to be used on smaller boats or increasingly by anglers.

Outboard engines in the lower power range from 0.5 kW to 2 kW even have integrated lithium batteries. The batteries can be attached to the shaft by a click mechanism and supply the electric motor with power via a cable. This makes it very easy to transport the battery and motor separately and allows flexible use of exchangeable batteries. A similar model of ePropulsion is now also available for pod motors on sailing boats.

Performance and general characteristics of boat batteries

Batteries are available in all variants and capacities. You will find the most diverse forms from 0.1 kWh to 112 kWh in our shop. Upwards there are hardly any limits to the capacity. Depending on your requirements, you need about 0.5 kWh per tonne per hour in displacement mode, and exponentially more in gliding mode or above hull speed. The most important value for you is the usable capacity (kWh). This is calculated from voltage (V) times current (Ah). Example: 4.8 kWh = 48 V * 100 Ah. With a 95% dischargeable lithium battery and a 4.3 kW boat engine, you can run at full throttle for about one hour. With half-load already 2 hours and with 25% partial load over 4 hours.

Normally you should reach 70% of the hull speed with partial load and sail at a decent speed. Depending on the controls you have a display with information about speed, remaining range, current battery capacity, and values such as current or voltage. Often you get an additional display or have a display directly on the electric motor or the battery.

Batteries electric boat

Battery for leisure vs. commercial use

There are differences in the use of batteries on the boat for leisure and commercial use. For leisure use, the Torqeedo, ePropulsion and Aquamot models have the best conditions with an unbeatable price/performance ratio.

If you use your boat as a rental company or for other commercial purposes, we recommend using motors and batteries specially designed for this purpose. The same applies to frequent drivers who travel more than 50 times a year in terms of travel time and frequency. Batteries from Victron Energy or Aentron are ideally suited for this purpose.

Battery for the e-boat engine - Which manufacturers are there?

Most boat owners are familiar with Torqeedo with the bright orange logo. Torqeedo has also developed battery systems especially for its motors and even works together with BMW.

The absolute top seller in the field of battery and charging technology is the company Victron Energy. The blue-orange boxes are known worldwide. Victron supplies both lithium and AGM batteries.

Most manufacturers also offer their batteries for the motors. These include the up-and-coming ePropulsion brand with a virtually unbeatable price/performance ratio for LiFePO4 batteries. RiPower and edyn offer Lithium batteries and Aquamot AGM batteries. Other manufacturers such as E-Tech, FMT, or Kräutler do not have their batteries and cooperate with specialized partners.

Advantages and disadvantages of lithium and AGM

A big advantage of lithium batteries is the depth of discharge and the capacity per kWh / kg usable. Lithium batteries can usually be discharged to 95%. Depending on the technology, AGM batteries are already damaged from 50% discharge and should not be deeply or completely discharged.

Furthermore, a lithium battery weighs only a third of an AGM battery. Also, lithium batteries with up to 3000 cycles have a longer life compared to AGM batteries with mostly 750 cycles. LiFePO4 batteries can also be charged and discharged quickly without degrading performance. The only disadvantage is the higher price, which is significantly higher. The bottom line is that the advantages are clear for the lithium battery, especially when lifetime is taken into account.

Also important: AGM is not equal to AGM. Besides the conventional models, which can be used up to 50% discharge depth, there are several innovations on the market. Victron Energy is a pioneer in this field. Just like Aquamot, Victron Deep Cycle AGMs can be discharged up to 80% without being damaged. In this area, AGM batteries will become much more interesting. In the meantime, Victron Energy has even developed Super Cycle AGM batteries that can be discharged up to 100% and then recharged only after 2 hours and still work perfectly. Of course, the charging cycles are less than when discharging up to 50%, but this is good security for the individual case.

Conclusion on lithium and AGM

Our recommendation are lithium batteries, but AGM batteries may be more suitable for occasional use. The main reason is the high charge cycles, compared to AGM batteries, these are simply many times higher and therefore make more sense in the long run.

Talk to us - together we will look at your conditions and find the perfect overall system!

Torqeedo kaufen

Installation of a boat battery

Depending on how fit you are in handling batteries, we recommend ready-made solutions or at least individual components. Ready-made systems are usually easy to connect via Plug & Play. However, you can save a few euros if you do the cabling yourself or do not use a protective plug but connect the poles directly to the cable.

If you have any questions about the installation, let us know at any time. We will be happy to help you in every detail or help you via telephone, e-mail, and video chat wherever possible. Otherwise, you will find all the necessary information in the descriptions of the manufacturers.

In the high-voltage range for motors from 15 kW upwards, the installation must necessarily be carried out by a master electrician. If possible, we rather recommend motors in the low voltage range. This also simplifies the connection of the on-board electrical system and increases safety.

Cookie Usage

We use cookies to give you the best optimized online experience and consistent information. You can agree to the collection of all cookies by clicking on the Accept & Close button or adjust your cookies settings by clicking on Manage Cookies. For more information please see our data privacy policy .

Batterien für mein Boot

Torqeedo, ePropulsion, Victron Energy und mehr

Beliebte Bootsbatterien – Lithium & AGM

„Welche Batterien für mein Boot gibt es?“ – Sie finden in den Kategorien ganz einfach den passenden Motortyp und das passende Modell für Ihr Boot. Hier finden Sie beinahe alle am Markt für maritime Anwendung verfügbaren Hersteller und Modelle.

Sie sind sich nicht sicher welche Batterie am besten zu Ihrem elektrischen Bootsmotor passt? Rufen Sie uns an oder schreiben eine kurze Mail! Wir haben eine Auswahl von über 450 verschiedenen E-Antrieben und 100 Batterien von über 20 Herstellern in unserem Shop.

Batterietypen: Lithium und AGM

Welche Batterie Sie brauchen, hängt stark von Ihrer Nutzung und dem Budget ab. Motor- und Segelboote werden meist mit modernen Lithium-Batterien betrieben. Alternativ sind auch AGM- oder Bleibatterien möglich. Diese kommen aber eher bei kleineren Booten oder verstärkt bei Anglern zum Einsatz.

Bei Außenbordmotoren im unteren Leistungsbereich von 0,5 kW bis 2 kW gibt es sogar integrierte Lithium-Batterien. Per Click-Mechanismus können die Batterien am Schaft befestigt werden und den E-Motor über ein Kabel mit Strom versorgen. Batterie und Motor lassen sich dadurch sehr einfach einzeln transportieren und es können flexibel Wechselakkus genutzt werden. Ein ähnliches Modell von ePropulsion gibt es mittlerweile auch für Podmotoren bei Segelbooten.

Leistung und allgemeine Merkmale von Bootsbatterien

Batterien gibt es in allen Varianten und Kapazitäten. Sie finden von 0,1 kWh bis 112 kWh die verschiedensten Formen in unserem Shop. Nach oben gibt es bei der Kapazität kaum Grenzen. Je nach Anforderung benötigen Sie in Verdrängerfahrt circa 0,5 kWh pro Tonne pro Stunde Fahrt, bei Gleitfahrt oder oberhalb der Rumpfgeschwindigkeit exponenziell mehr. Der wichtigste Wert für Sie ist die Nutzbare Kapzität (kWh). Diese errechnet sich aus Spannung (V) mal Stromstärke (Ah). Beispiel: 4,8 kWh = 48 V * 100 Ah. Mit einer 95% entladbaren Lithium-Batterie und einem 4,3 kW Bootsmotor können Sie rund eine Stunde Vollgas fahren. Mit Halblast bereits 2 Stunden und bei 25% Teillast über 4 Stunden.

In der Regel sollten Sie mit Teillast schon gut 70% der Rumpfgeschwindigkeit erreichen und mit ordentlicher Geschwindigkeit fahren. Je nach Steuerung haben Sie ein Display mit Informationen über die Geschwindigkeit, verbleibende Reichweite, aktuelle Batteriekapazität und Werte wie Strom oder Spannung. Oft erhalten Sie zusätzlich ein Display oder haben direkt am Elektromotor oder der Batterie eine Anzeige.

Batterien elektro Boot

Batterie für Freizeit vs. gewerbliche Nutzung

Es gibt Unterschiede bei dem Einsatz von Batterien auf dem Boot in der Freizeit und der gewerblichen Nutzung. Für die Freizeitanwendung besitzen die Modelle von Torqeedo, ePropulsion und Aquamot die besten Voraussetzungen mit einem unschlagbaren Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis.

Sofern Sie Ihr Boot als Vermieter oder andere gewerbliche Zwecke, empfehlen wir Ihnen speziell darauf ausgelegte Motoren und Batterien. Gleiches gilt für Vielfahrer, die in Bezug auf Fahrzeit und Häufigkeit mehr als 50 Mal pro Jahr unterwegs sind. Ideal eignen sich dafür die Batterien von Victron Energy oder Aentron.

Batterie zum E-Bootsmotor – Welche Hersteller gibt es?

Den meisten Bootsbesitzern ist Torqeedo mit dem leuchtenden Logo in Orange ein Begriff. Torqeedo hat speziell für die eigenen Motoren auch Batteriesysteme entwickelt und arbeitet sogar mit BMW zusammen.

Absoluter Renner im Bereich der Batterie und Ladetechnik ist die Firma Victron Energy. Die blau-orangenen Kästen sind weltweit bekannt. Victron liefert sowohl Lithium, als auch AGM Batterien.

Die meisten Hersteller bieten zu den Motoren auch eigene Batterien an. Dazu gehört die aufstrebende Marke ePropulsion mit einem quasi unschlagbaren Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis bei LiFePO4 Batterien. RiPower und edyn bieten Lithium Akkus und Aquamot AGM Batterien an. Andere Hersteller wie E-Tech, FMT oder Kräutler besitzen keine eigenen Batterien und arbeiten mit spezialisierten Partnern zusammen.

Vor- und Nachteile von Lithium und AGM

Ein großer Vorteil von Lithium Akkus liegt in der Entladetiefe und der somit pro kWh / kg nutzbaren Kapazität. Lithium-Batterien können meist bis 95% entladen werden. AGM-Batterien werden je nach Technologie schon ab 50% Entladung beschädigt und sollten nicht tief oder vollständig entladen werden.

Außerdem wiegt eine Lithium-Batterie nur ein Drittel einer AGM-Batterie. Zudem haben Lithium Batterien mit bis zu 3000 Zyklen im Vergleich zu AGM Batterien mit meist 750 Zyklen eine höhere Lebensdauer. LiFePO4-Batterien können außerdem schnell geladen und entladen werden, ohne dass sich die Performance verschlechtert. Der einzige Nachteil ist ein höherer Preis, der deutlich höher ist. Unterm Strich liegen die Vorteile klar bei der Lithium-Batterie, insbesondere wenn man die Lebensdauer mit einbezieht.

Auch wichtig: AGM ist nicht gleich AGM. Neben den herkömmlichen Modellen, die bis 50% Entladetiefe genutzt werden können gibt es einige Innovationen auf dem Markt. Vorreiter in dem Bereich ist Victron Energy. Genau wie bei Aquamot gibt es auch bei Victron Deep Cycle AGM, die bis zu 80% entladen werden können, ohne davon beschadet zu werden. In dem Bereich werden AGM Batterien dann schon deutlich interessanter.

Mittlerweile hat Victron Energy sogar Super Cycle AGM Akkus entwickelt, die bis zu 100% entladen werden können und dann erst nach 2 Stunden wieder aufgeladen wurden und trotzdem noch einwandfrei funktionieren. Natürlich sind die Ladezyklen geringer als bei Entladung bis 50%, aber für den Einzelfall eine gute Sicherheit.

Fazit über Lithium und AGM

Unsere Empfehlung sind Lithium-Batterien, AGM Batterien könnten für die gelegentliche Nutzung jedoch sinnvoller sein. Der Hauptgrund sind die hohen Ladezyklen, im Vergleich zu AGM Batterien sind diese einfach um ein vielfaches höher und somit langfristig sinnvoller.

Sprechen Sie uns an – wir schauen uns gemeinsam Ihren Bedinungen an und finden das perfekte Gesamtsystem!

Beschreibung

Installation einer Bootsbatterie

Je nach dem wie fit Sie im Umgang mit Batterien sind, empfehlen wir Ihnen fertige Lösungen oder zumindest einzelne Komponenten. Fertige Systeme sind in der Regel via Plug & Play einfach zu verbinden. Sie können jedoch ein paar Euro sparen, wenn Sie die Verkabelung selbst übernehmen oder keinen Schutzstecker nutzen, sondern die Pole direkt mit dem Kabel verbinden.

Wenn Sie Fragen zur Installation haben, sagen Sie uns jederzeit bereit. Wir helfen gern bis ins kleinste Detail weiter oder helfen via Telefon, E-Mail und Videochat wo es geht. Ansonsten finden Sie in den Beschreibungen der Hersteller alle nötigen Hinweise.

Im Hochvolt-Bereich bei Motoren ab 15 kW muss die Installation zwangsläufig von einem Elektro-Meister vorgenommen werden. Sofern möglich, empfehlen wir eher Motoren im Niederspannungs-Bereich. Das vereinfacht auch den Anschluss der Bordelektrik und erhöht die Sicherheit.

Verwendung von Cookies

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihnen das bestmögliche Online-Erlebnis zu bieten und unsere Website ständig zu verbessern. Hierzu sammeln wir Informationen über die Nutzung unserer Website. Mit Klick auf den Button „Zustimmen“ erklären Sie sich mit der Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden. Für weitere Information über die Nutzung von Cookies oder Änderungen Ihrer Einstellungen klicken Sie bitte auf „Cookies verwalten“. Mehr Informationen finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzrichtlinie .