close icon

Ahoy!

ratgeber elektroantriebe

Everything about an electric boat engine battery

Do you want to buy a battery for the boat or inquire which battery is the most suitable? We would be happy to help you with the topic of batteries, enjoy reading!

We have divided the article into the following sections:

Installation battery boat

There are a few basic things to keep in mind when installing your battery system. The most important is the information from the manufacturer! If you observe the following 10 points, almost nothing can go wrong!

When installing the battery, make sure that:

  • Stands safely or is fixed in the boat
  • Is protected against water as much as possible or has an appropriately waterproof housing
  • Adequate air circulation is possible
  • The contacts of the batteries are protected
  • The connection cables are securely attached
  • Only compatible cables with sufficient cross-section can be used
  • The correct circuit is observed / poles are observed
  • A BMS is used with lithium (LiFePo4) batteries
  • A battery balancer is available if connected in series
  • The cables are neither damaged nor too long to avoid the loss

The determination of the capacity of your battery on the boat can be found in our article "In 4 steps to the perfect electric drive." Just make sure you stop by!

Construction of a battery system with circuits

We recommend that you use a battery if possible. In addition to increased installation effort, circuits also have other technical disadvantages. An important prerequisite for the circuit is the manufacturer's information about the suitability of the battery.

When you combine batteries, you can increase the voltage or capacity of the battery system. When connected in series, the voltage increases. You can combine two identical batteries with a nominal voltage of 12 V in a series connection to form a 24 V battery system. With a parallel connection, the capacity would double from 100 Ah / 12 V to 200 Ah / 12 V.

battery elektro motor
battery boat motor

Disadvantages of series connection

Disadvantages of series connection

victron energy

Disadvantages of parallel connection

Failure of a single cell can damage the entire parallel connection until cell death. The cause is high equalizing currents between the batteries. Again, use fuses or balancers so that a single, defective battery cell does not damage all others within the battery system.

Batteriebalancer

With the lithium battery, the balancing of the cells is carried out by the BMS, so that small differences can be compensated for. Cell balancing can be active or passive. Active balancers transfer the energy from cells with a higher charge to cells with a lower charge. In contrast, passive balancers function like a charge limitation, so that all cells are charged to the same extent.

Usage Notice for Batteries

You should have read these instructions before operating:

  • Be sure to follow the manufacturer's safety instructions! Please also consider the safety of others here!
  • Make sure that you use a suitable charger to charge the battery
  • Recharge the battery as soon as possible after use (otherwise, there is a risk of loss of capacity!)
  • Make sure that your lithium-ion battery is protected by a BMS!
  • Pay attention to a suitable installation location or a safe stand for your battery
  • Use only suitable cables for the connection and attach them carefully
  • Carry out a charge equalization between the batteries as regularly as possible if you use a circuit made up of several batteries
  • If possible, only use batteries of the same model, age and state of charge in a battery circuit
  • Pay attention to the correct storage and wintering of your battery

Security and case

Battery safety

We only offer lithium-ion batteries or VLRA batteries. Both are maintenance-free and leak-proof. This means that the batteries can be installed anywhere. These batteries are very safe compared to other open battery types or petrol.

You should always follow the manufacturer's safety instructions. Security risks mainly arise from improper handling or gross negligence. This can e.g. incorrect installation, incorrect charging, violence, open fire or a short circuit.

Incorrect installation or charging with an unsuitable charger will damage the electric motor and the battery. Excessive currents of the charger lead to the battery heating up and reducing the service life. In an emergency, this can lead to fire or explosion. Pay attention to compatible components when buying to avoid certain risks.

lithium energy pack

Battery Case on Boats

The housing protects battery cells from environmental influences. For boats, the housing should at least be splash-proof or waterproof. The standard material for battery housings is ABS plastic with a low weight. This is robust, weather and aging resistant, so ideally suited. Some manufacturers of particularly high-quality battery systems, some with high capacity, use stainless steel or aluminum alloys.

Batteries that are not primarily designed for the boat sector often do not have a high IP protection class. Compared to boat batteries, solar storage systems are neither particularly dust-protected nor water-protected. If you want to use these batteries, they must be installed in a water-protected place. Alternatively, you can use a battery case.

BMS boat battery

A battery management system (BMS) protects the lithium batteries against dangers and damage, as well as other safety risks. For this reason, we always recommend using a BMS for lithium batteries. Lithium-ion cells are particularly susceptible to over- and deep discharge.

Damage and dangers of batteries

Leaving the voltage range recommended by the manufacturer can lead to a short circuit and destruction of the cell. Another important function is the balancing of the cell voltages. Temperature monitoring and load limitation ensure that the electricity is interrupted in an emergency. The battery cannot be damaged and hazards such as fires or explosions are prevented.

Other functions of a BMS can be:

  • Deep Discharge Protection
  • Overload Protection
  • Temperature Monitoring
  • Balancing the Cells
  • Short Circuit Protection
  • Load Limitation against excessive currents
  • History Record (important for warranty)
  • Communication between battery cells and on-board computer

What batteries do we recommend?

Therefore, when choosing the latest lithium technology, make sure that the battery is protected by a BMS. The lithium-ion batteries without BMS are a rare exception anyway. We separately point out exceptions.

lithium battery

Monitoring and control of the battery

Important parameters that are monitored:<br /><br />

  • State of charge of the battery
  • Battery voltage (charge and operation)
  • Charge and discharge currents
  • Battery temperature when charging
  • Battery temperature in operation

State of charge of the battery

It is usually important to be able to read the remaining capacity of the battery and to have certainty about the remaining range. An LED indicator is often attached to the electric outboard. This is usually not very precise but is usually sufficient. A battery monitor shows you the state of charge in more detail.

Battery Voltage

The voltage is the most important parameter because the charge level can be determined from it. Many displays show the relevant charge level directly and not the battery voltage. For battery monitors or on-board computers, the voltage is a standard value. With chargers, the battery voltage is always displayed during charging.

agm battery

Charge and discharge current

The charging current is controlled by the charger. Many chargers offer the possibility of displaying the current charging current. The charging power can also be determined on the basis of the charging current and the charging voltage (V * Ah = Wh). The higher the charging current, the higher the charging and charging speed of the battery

You should always make sure that the battery can handle the charging current. If not, it can result in loss of capacity or even the destruction of the battery. The same applies to the discharge current. The remaining driving time can be calculated on the basis of the discharge current and the charge level.

Display of the remaining driving time

The remaining driving time can be calculated relatively easily. If you measure the current power consumption and know the usable capacity of the battery, you can calculate the remaining driving time. The remaining range can also be calculated based on the current speed and the remaining driving time. Since both values cannot be measured directly, they are not displayed by engine displays and on-board computers by default.

The temperature when charging the battery

A frequently monitored characteristic value is the temperature of the battery when charging. The temperature must not exceed about 55 ° C, otherwise, it will be damaged. The danger is usually only with fast chargers or excessive charging currents. We therefore always recommend a suitable charger.

Operating Temperature

The temperature of the battery during operation should also not be too high or too low. A temperature of 20 ° C is ideal. Overheating protection is by no means standard for batteries. As long as you use your battery properly and use a suitable charger, this will probably never be relevant.

Storage and wintering of the batter

The best way to store or hibernate the battery varies slightly depending on the type of battery. AGM, gel and lithium batteries can usually hibernate on the boat. Cold temperatures do not harm them thanks to their low self-discharge. The batteries could only be damaged below -20 ° C, as the electrolytes will freeze at some point.

Storage and wintering of lead-acid batteries

Lead batteries (AGM and gel batteries) should, if possible, be stored in a fully charged state. You should disconnect the batteries and if possible connect them to a charger with trickle charging. If this is not possible, we recommend checking the charge level of the battery and charging if necessary. It is best to observe the manufacturer's recommended final discharge voltage.

Storage and wintering of lithium-ion batteries

Lithium-ion beverages are best stored in a charge level of 50-75%. Lithium-ion beverages will also be disconnected, but under no circumstances will they be a trickle charger. Due to the very personal self-discharge, the battery should survive the entire winter. You can charge your battery after a few months to include a deep discharge.

Charger fore battery on the boat

The battery chargers must be connected to the charging process, the voltage range, and the charging power. In theory, all different charging methods have the same purpose and can be used for all types of batteries. Since these have different properties, not all charging methods are ideally heard for all types of batteries. There is a different risk in that the charging power is too high and the battery temperature rises sharply..

energy boat motor

Always a compatible battery charger!

We therefore only recommend compatible chargers for your battery system. So you have a long time from your battery! Do you want to charge your battery on the boat and don't know how? Take a look at our article You can find the capacity of your battery on the boat in our article In 4 steps to the perfect electric drive!

energy pack boat
nach oben

contact icon Do you have questions?

Cookie Usage

We use cookies to give you the best optimized online experience and consistent information. You can agree to the collection of all cookies by clicking on the Accept & Close button or adjust your cookies settings by clicking on Manage Cookies. For more information please see our data privacy policy .

close icon

Ahoi!

Alles rund um eine elektrische-Bootsmotor-Batterie

Sie wollen eine Batterie fürs Boot kaufen oder sich erkundigen, welche Batterie optimal geeignet ist? Beim Thema Batterie helfen wir Ihnen gern weiter, viel Spaß beim Lesen!

Wir haben den Artikel in folgende Abschnitte eingeteilt:

Installation Batterie Boot und Schaltung

Bei der Installation Ihres Batteriesystems sollten Sie auf einige grundlegende Dinge achten. Am wichtigsten sind dabei die Angaben des Herstellers! Wenn Sie die folgenden 10 Punkte beachten, kann eigentlich fast gar nichts mehr schiefgehen!

Achten Sie beim Einbau der Batterie darauf, dass:

  • Sicher steht oder im Boot fixiert ist
  • Möglichst wassergeschützt ist oder ein entsprechend wasserdichtes Gehäuse hat
  • Ausreichend Luftzirkulation möglich ist
  • Die Kontakte der Batterien geschützt sind
  • Die Verbindungskabel sicher angebracht sind
  • Nur kompatible Kabel mit ausreichendem Querschnitt verwendet werden
  • Die richtige Schaltung beachtet wird/Pole beachtet werden
  • Ein BMS bei Lithium (LiFePo4) Batterien verwendet wird
  • Bei Reihenschaltung möglichst ein Batteriebalancer vorhanden ist
  • Die Kabel weder beschädigt noch zu lang, um Verluste zu vermeiden

Die Bestimmung der Kapazität ihrer Batterie auf dem Boot finden Sie übrigens in unserem Artikel "In 4 Schritten zum perfekten Elektroantrieb." Schauen Sie doch mal vorbei!

Aufbau eines Batteriesystems mit Schaltungen

Wir empfehlen Ihnen wenn möglich eine Batterie zu verwenden. Schaltungen haben neben einem höheren Aufwand der Installation auch weitere technische Nachteile. Eine wichtige Voraussetzung für die Schaltung ist die Herstellerangabe über die Eignung der Batterie.

Wenn Sie Batterien kombinieren, können Sie die Spannung oder die Kapazität des Batteriesystems erhöhen. Bei der Reihenschaltung erhöht sich die Spannung. Sie können zwei baugleiche Batterien mit 12 Volt Nennspannung in einer Reihenschaltung zu einem 24 V Batteriesystem kombinieren. Bei Parallelschalten würde sich die Kapazität verdoppeln von 100 Ah / 12 V auf 200 Ah / 12 V.

Nachteile von Reihenschaltung

Eine Reihenschaltung aus mehreren Batterien ist nur so stark wie Ihr schwächstes Glied. Unterschiedliche Ladungsstände führen zu einer verringerten Kapazität und Lebensdauer von einem Batteriesystem, was durch einen Balancer verhindert wird. Ladegeräte können diese nicht ausgleichen!

Nachteile Parallelschaltung

Das Versagen einer einzelnen Zelle kann die gesamte Parallelschaltung bis zum Zelltod beschädigen. Die Ursache sind hohe Ausgleichströme zwischen den Batterien. Auch hier: Nutzen Sie Sicherungen bzw. Balancer, damit eine einzelne, defekte Batteriezellen nicht alle anderen innerhalb des Batteriesystems beschädigen.

Vor- und Nachteile vom Außenborder

Außenborder lassen sich leicht (de-)montieren. Sie sind deutlich flexibler und können nach der Fahrt oder zur Überwinterung abgebaut werden. Nachteilig ist, dass Außenborder häufiger gestohlen werden. Keine Sorge: Es gibt neben dem Abbau auch andere Möglichkeiten den Motor vor Diebstahl zu sichern!

Batteriebalancer

Beim Lithium Akku wird das Balancing der Zellen vom BMS übernommen, sodass kleine Unterschiede ausgeglichen werden können. Das Zellbalancing kann aktiv oder passiv erfolgen. Aktive Balancer übertragen die Energie von Zellen mit höherer Ladung auf Zellen mit niedriger Ladung. Passive Balancer funktionieren im Gegensatz dazu wie eine Begrenzung der Ladung, sodass alle Zellen gleich stark geladen sind.

Benutzungshinweise

Sie sollten diese Hinweise vor Betrieb unbedingt zur Kenntnis genommen haben:

  • Beachten Sie unbedingt die Sicherheitshinweise der Hersteller! Denken Sie hier bitte auch an die Sicherheit anderer!
  • Achten Sie darauf, dass Sie ein geeignetes Ladegerät zum Laden der Batterie verwenden
  • Laden Sie die Batterie möglichst zeitnah nach der Benutzung wieder auf (sonst drohen Kapazitätsverluste!)
  • Achten Sie darauf, dass Ihre Lithium-Ionen-Batterie durch ein BMS geschützt ist!
  • Achten Sie auf einen geeigneten Einbauort bzw. einen sicheren Stand für Ihre Batterie
  • Verwenden Sie nur geeignete Kabel zur Verbindung und bringen Sie diese sorgsam an
  • Führen Sie möglichst regelmäßig einen Ladungsausgleich zwischen den Batterien durch, falls Sie eine Schaltung aus mehreren Batterien verwenden
  • Verwenden Sie möglichst nur Batterien des gleichen Modells, Alters und Ladezustandes in einer Batterieschaltung
  • Achten Sie auf die richtige Lagerung und Überwinterung Ihrer Batterie.

Sicherheit und Gehäuse

Sicherheit von Batterien

Bei uns finden Sie ausschließlich Lithium-Ionen-Batterien oder VLRA-Batterien. Beide sind wartungsfrei und auslaufsicher. Die Batterien können dadurch lageunabhängig eingebaut werden. Diese Batterien sind im Vergleich zu anderen offenen Batteriearten oder Benzin sehr sicher.

Sie sollten immer die Sicherheitshinweise des Herstellers beachten. Sicherheitsrisiken treten hauptsächlich bei unsachgemäßer Behandlung oder grober Fahrlässigkeit auf. Dies können z.B. falsche Installation, falsches Laden, Gewalteinwirkung, offenes Feuer oder ein Kurzschluss sein.

Falsche Installation oder Ladung mit nicht geeignetem Ladegerät führen zur Schädigung des E-Motors und der Batterie. Zu hohe Ströme des Ladegerätes führen zur Erhitzung der Batterie und einer Reduzierung der Lebensdauer. Im Ernstfall kann dies zur Brand- oder Explosionsgefahr führen. Achten Sie beim Kauf auf kompatible Komponenten, um gewissen Risiken zu vermeiden.

Batteriegehäuse

Das Gehäuse schützt Batteriezellen vor Umwelteinflüsse schützen, bei Booten sollten die Gehäuse wenigstens spritzwassergeschützt oder wasserdicht sein. Das Standardmaterial bei Batteriegehäusen ist ABS-Kunststoff mit geringem Gewicht. Dieser ist robust, witterungs- und alterungsbeständig, also optimal geeignet. Einige Hersteller besonders hochwertiger Batteriesysteme, mit teils hoher Kapazität, greifen auf Edelstahl- oder Aluminiumlegierungen zurück.

Batterien, die nicht primär für den Bootsbereich konzipiert sind, haben häufig auch keine hohe IP-Schutzart. Solarspeicher im Vergleich zu Bootsbatterien sind weder sonderlich staubgeschützt noch wassergeschützt. Wenn Sie diese Batterien verwenden wollen, müssen sie an einem wassergeschützten Ort eingebaut werden. Alternativ können Sie ein Batteriegehäuse verwenden.

Bootsbatterie BMS

Ein Batterie-Management-System (BMS) schützt die Lithium Akkus gegen Gefahren und vor Beschädigungen, sowie andere Sicherheitsrisiken. Aus diesem Grund empfehlen wir immer ein BMS bei Lithium-Batterien zu verwenden. Lithium-Ionen-Zellen sind besonders anfällig gegenüber Über- und Tiefentladung.

Schäden und Gefahren von Batterien

Beim Verlassen des vom Hersteller empfohlenen Spannungsbereiches, kann es zu einem Kurzschluss und der Zerstörung der Zelle führen. Eine weitere wichtige Funktion ist das Ausbalancieren der Zellspannungen. Eine Temperaturüberwachung und eine Lastbegrenzung sorgen dafür, dass der Strom im Ernstfall unterbrochen wird. Die Batterie kann somit keinen Schaden nehmen und Gefahren, wie Brände oder Explosionen, werden verhindern.

Weitere Funktionen eines BMS können sein:

  • Tief-Entladeschutz
  • Überladungsschutz
  • Temperaturüberwachung
  • Ausbalancieren der Zellen
  • Kurzschlusssicherung
  • Lastbegrenzung gegen zu hohe Ströme
  • Historienaufzeichnung (wichtig für Gewährleistung)
  • Kommunikation zwischen Batteriezellen und Bordcomputer

Was empfehlen wir Ihnen?

Achten Sie deshalb bei der Auswahl modernster Lithium-Technik darauf, dass die Batterie durch ein BMS geschützt sind. Die Lithium-Ionen-Batterien ohne BMS bilden ohnehin eine seltene Ausnahme. Wir weisen gesondert auf Ausnahmen hin.

Überwachung und Steuerung der Batterie

Wichtige Kennwerte, die überwacht werden:

  • Ladezustand der Batterie
  • Spannung der Batterie (Ladung und Betrieb)
  • Lade- und Entladeströme
  • Temperatur der Batterie beim Laden
  • Temperatur der Batterie im Betrieb

Ladezustand der Batterie

Meist ist es wichtig die Restkapazität der Batterie ablesen zu können und Sicherheit über die Restreichweite zu haben. Oft ist dazu eine LED-Anzeige am elektro Außenborder angebracht. Dies ist meist nicht sehr genau, reicht in der Regel aber völlig aus. Ein Batteriemonitor zeigt Ihnen den Ladezustand etwas genauer an.

Spannung der Batterie

Die Spannung ist der wichtigste Kennwert, da der Ladestand darüber bestimmt werden kann. Bei vielen Anzeigen wird direkt der relevante Ladestand angezeigt und nicht die Spannung der Batterie. Bei Batteriemonitoren oder Bordcomputern ist die Spannung ein standardmäßiger Wert. Bei Ladegeräten wird die Batteriespannung während der Ladung immer angezeigt.

Lade- und Entladestrom

Der Ladestrom wird vom Ladegerät gesteuert. Viele Ladegeräte bieten die Möglichkeit den aktuellen Ladestrom anzuzeigen. Anhand des Ladestroms und der Ladespannung kann auch die Ladeleistung bestimmt werden (V*Ah = Wh). Je höher der Ladestrom, umso hohe Leistungen bei der Aufladung und Ladegeschwindigkeit der Batterie.

Sie sollten immer darauf achten, dass die Batterie den Ladestrom auch verträgt. Wenn nicht, kann es von Kapazitätsverlusten bis hin zur Zerstörung der Batterie kommen. Gleiches gilt auch beim Entladestrom. Anhand des Entladestroms und des Ladestands kann die Restfahrzeit berechnet werden.

Anzeige der Restfahrzeit

Die Restfahrzeit kann relativ leicht errechnet werden. Wenn Sie den aktuellen Stromverbrauch messen und die nutzbare Kapazität der Batterie kennen, können Sie die Restfahrzeit errechnen. Die Restreichweite kann auch anhand der aktuellen Geschwindigkeit und der Restfahrzeit berechnet werden. Da beide Werte nicht direkt gemessen werden können, werden Sie auch nicht standardmäßig von Motoranzeigen und Bordcomputern angezeigt.

Temperatur beim Laden der Batterie

Ein häufig überwachter Kennwert ist die Temperatur der Batterie beim Laden. Die Temperatur darf den Wert von circa 55 ° C nicht übersteigen, da sie sonst beschädigt wird. Die Gefahr besteht meist nur bei Schnelladegeräten beziehungsweise zu hohen Ladeströmen. Wir empfehlen Ihnen daher immer ein geeignetes Ladegerät.

Temperatur bei Betrieb

Die Temperatur der Batterie im Betrieb sollte ebenfalls weder zu hoch noch zu gering sein. Ideal ist eine Temperatur von 20° C. Ein Überhitzungsschutz ist keineswegs eine Standardausstattung bei Batterien. Solange Sie ihre Batterie ordnungsgemäß verwenden und ein geeignetes Ladegerät verwenden, wird dies vermutlich nie relevant werden.

Lagerung und Überwinterung der Batterie

Wie Sie die Batterie am besten lagern oder überwintern ist je nach Batterieart leicht unterschiedlich. AGM, Gel und Lithium-Batterien können in der Regel auf dem Boot überwintern. Kalte Temperaturen schaden ihnen dank geringer Selbstentladung nicht. Lediglich unterhalb von -20 °C könnten die Batterien Schaden nehmen, da irgendwann die Elektrolyte gefrieren.

Lagerung und Überwinterung von Bleibatterien

Bleibatterien (AGM- und Gelbatterien) sollten möglichst im vollständig geladenen Zustand gelagert werden. Sie sollten die Batterien abklemmen und wenn möglich an ein Ladegerät mit Erhaltungsladung anschließen. Falls dies nicht möglich ist, empfehlen wir eine Überprüfung des Ladungsstandes der Batterie und gegebenenfalls eine Aufladung. Beachten Sie dabei am besten die empfohlene Entladeschlussspannung des Herstellers.

Lagerung und Überwinterung von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien

Lithium-Ionen-Batterien sollten am besten in einem Ladungsstand von 50 – 75 % gelagert werden. Auch Lithium-Ionen-Batterien sollten abgeklemmt werden, aber auf keinen Fall an ein Ladegerät mit Erhaltungsladung angeschlossen werden. Auf Grund der sehr niedrigen Selbstentladung sollte die Batterie den kompletten Winter überstehen. Sie können jedoch nach ein paar Monaten den Ladestand Ihrer Batterie überprüfen, um eine Tiefentladung zu vermeiden.

Ladegerät Batterie Boot

Die Batterie-Ladegeräte unterscheiden sich anhand der Ladeverfahren, dem Spannungsbereich und der Ladeleistung. Theoretisch erfüllen alle verschiedenen Ladeverfahren den gleichen Zweck und können für alle Batteriearten verwendet werden. Da diese unterschiedlichen Eigenschaften haben, sind jedoch nicht alle Ladeverfahren für alle Batteriearten ideal geeignet. Ein besonderes Risiko besteht in einer zu hohen Ladeleistung und einem folgenden, starken Temperaturanstieg der Batterie.

Immer ein kompatibles Ladegerät für die Batterie!

Wir empfehlen Ihnen daher nur kompatible Ladegeräte für Ihr Batteriesystem. So haben Sie lange etwas von Ihrer Batterie! Sie wollen Ihre Batterie auf dem Boot laden und wissen nicht wie? Schauen Sie in unserem Artikel Die Bestimmt der Kapazität ihrer Batterie auf dem Boot finden Sie übrigens in unserem Artikel "In 4 Schritten zum perfekten Elektroantrieb" vorbei!

nach oben

contact icon Haben Sie Fragen?

Verwendung von Cookies

Um unsere Webseite für Sie optimal zu gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern zu können, verwenden wir Cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie in unseren Datenschutzrichtlinie .